Chennai Province

The Chennai Region consists of 25 Houses with 230 sisters. The Regional Office at Pallavaram started functioning on 13 June 1985. Mary Hermen Gild was elected as the first Regional Superior. The first Regional Chapter was held in the year 1988 and Mother Mary Ethelvina was elected as the Regional Superior. Sr. S.C. Lourdu Mary was elected as Regional Superior in the second Regional Superior in the second Regional Chapter held on 10 May 1991. A desire to have a separate Regional House led to the construction of a new house at Nadu Street, Mylapore. The house served as Regional House from 10 July 1989 with Mother John De Britto as Mother General. Sr. Jesintha was elected as Regional Superior in the third and fourth Regional Chapter. In the year 1998, the Regions were raised to the status of Provinces. The first province Chapter was held on 30 July 1998. Sr. Jeyaseeli took office as the first Provincial with a team of councillors.The house at Nadu Street, Mylapore, became the provincialate. The second Province Chapter was held in the year 2001 and Sr. Jeyaseeli was re-elected as Provincial. To make it convenient for the members to attend regular meetings and to facilitate accommodation the Provincial House was shifted from Nadu Street to Alwarpet on 10 June 2002. Sr. Antoniammal served as Provincial from 2004 to 2007 and the service continues at present with Sr. Angeline as Provincial, from the year 2007.

Mission and Achievements

The Chennai province has the following ministries: prison ministry for women, gypsy ministry, community colleges, development of folklore and arts, releasing of cassettes, book of thoughts, construction of new buildings, tailoring institute for dropout girls, weaving sector at Sathiavedu, education, medical care, Evangelization, social work and t find the real meaning of a dedicated life. Chennai Province enthusiastically takes up new apostolates for the growth of the Congregation.

1. Provincialate

2. Alwarpet

3. Arakkonam

4. Ashok Nagar

5. Chintadripet

6. Kadavendi

7. Kallambedu

8. Kalpet

9. Kancheepuram

10. Kanchi-Collectorate

11. Kovalam

12. Kovilanur

13. Lehodey Illam

14. Little Mount

15. Madanapalli

16. Malligapuram

17. Mudichur

18. Mylapore

19. Mylapore-Nadu Street

20. Pallavaram

21. pannur

22. Poonamallee

23. Porur

24. Pudupattinam

25. Sadras

26. Sathiyavedu

27. Sellampattidai

28. Sendivakkam

29. Siruthanur

30. Vivek Nagar