Our Mission
:: Administration :: Provinces
Chennai | Dindigul | Tanjore

Chennai Province
The Chennai Region consists of 25 Houses with 230 sisters. The Regional Office at Pallavaram started functioning on 13 June 1985. Mary Hermen Gild was elected as the first Regional Superior. The first Regional Chapter was held in the year 1988 and Mother Mary Ethelvina was elected as the Regional Superior. Sr. S.C. Lourdu Mary was elected as Regional Superior in the second Regional Superior in the second Regional Chapter held on 10 May 1991. A desire to have a separate Regional House led to the construction of a new house at Nadu Street, Mylapore. The house served as Regional House from 10 July 1989 with Mother John De Britto as Mother General. Sr. Jesintha was elected as Regional Superior in the third and fourth Regional Chapter. In the year 1998, the Regions were raised to the status of Provinces. The first province Chapter was held on 30 July 1998. Sr. Jeyaseeli took office as the first Provincial with a team of councillors.The house at Nadu Street, Mylapore, became the provincialate. The second Province Chapter was held in the year 2001 and Sr. Jeyaseeli was re-elected as Provincial. To make it convenient for the members to attend regular meetings and to facilitate accommodation the Provincial House was shifted from Nadu Street to Alwarpet on 10 June 2002. Sr. Antoniammal served as Provincial from 2004 to 2007 and the service continues at present with Sr. Angeline as Provincial, from the year 2007.

page1 | page2
Developed by ArcherWebSol
website counter